Morning Tree

'Morning Tree'
‘Morning Tree’ © 2016 Carlos Aleman
36″ x 24″ Acrylic on Canvas

Morning Tree was inspired by the work of Joichi Hoshi, which I have been admiring quite a bit lately.  The struggling Japanese artist created woodblock prints of what I think were exceedingly ethereal depictions of trees.  I based this painting of a photograph I took by a lake with my phone.  I found it an interesting challenge to translate the green leaves and sepia tones of branches to white, representing light with echoes of Willam Blake.

‘……whether it is a single tree or a forest……..the mere thought of it stirs my mind, and I try to convey that sentiment in a picture.’  —Joichi Hoshi
(Thanks to Michael for this quote)

Leave a Reply

