Kintsugi Samurai


‘Kintsugi Samurai’ © 2017 Carlos Aleman

I’m finishing up my pieces for the summer Anime-Japan show.  This one has quite a bit of gold and glitter in the face (photo doesn’t quite capture it) and so I thought I’d describe it with the word, kintsugi.  If you’ve ever seen broken Japanese pottery repaired with lacquer and gold dust, you might find ‘kintsugi’ can also be a metaphor for people who have experienced brokenness and recovery.  I plan to carry the sentiment over to some paintings I’m starting to work on in my head.  I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “Kintsugi Samurai

  1. This concept of finding beauty in what had been broken and then lovingly patched together reminds me of “wabi sabi” which “seeks the purity of natural imperfection.”
    I’m currently reading: wabi sabi the Japanese art of impermanence.
    Fascinating!

Leave a Reply

